In”habit” Your Life Daily

image

For some reason, this New Years I was very sensitive to the fact that we place a lot of emphasis on January 1.  Understandably so.  January 1 marks the start of a new year and signifies hope and opportunity.  Many people resolve to make positive changes for the sake of their health and wellness, relationships, finances etc. at the onset of a new year.  But what about the rest of the year?

I had to stop and ask myself that question because when I reviewed my journal for 2014, I saw a reduction in resolve and determination depending upon the time of year.  As with most people, I was super motivated the first couple of months of the year only to wane in my determination as the weeks and months went on.  I found myself ending 2014 with regrets but this year I am determined to do something different.  This year I intend to inhabit my life daily.

As you read this you may question why I am making reference to inhabiting my life.  After all that is kind of what the word means – to live in.  But this year I am taking it a step further.  I want to be present each and every day and value each day as if it was January 1.

I think about the butterfly and how their life spans from a few days to a few months depending upon the species.  With such a shortened lifespan, undoubtedly the butterfly has to accomplish a lot in a small amount of time. They have to make each moment count.  And most often (at least in my backyard) I find butterflies floating among the flowers and not perched on the stones.

So for 2015, I am going to get in to the habit of being like the butterfly.  I am going to take some time each day to perch my thoughts and intentions among the flowers of friends and family.  I am going to get in the habit of staying as far away from the stones of negativity and self-doubt.  I am going to inhabit each day as if it is my last first day of January.

How will you in”habit” your life?

Leave a Reply

