March 20th is the International Day of Happiness

11008051_10203796737895690_8665320076465317041_n

Friday is not only the first day of Spring, it is also International Happiness Day!  Yes, there is such a thing and it is wonderful.  One whole day to think of nothing more than happiness.  A time to reflect on the true meaning of life, what happiness is and what happiness is not.

I had the privilege of learning about this wonderful day last year and was able to commemorate it with my coworkers.  My story of last year’s celebration was featured in the April issue of Live Happy magazine and I cannot wait to celebrate again this year.

But what is happiness?  Many people think happiness is found in the form of things.  I’ll be happy when I get this job.  I’ll be happy when I make this amount of money.  I’ll be happy if I buy this house or car.  I’ll be happy when I get married and have kids.  True, all of those things can enhance your happiness but happiness is not those things.

Happiness is what you are not something you obtain.  Happiness comes from self-reflection and being truly mindful of you inner self and your surroundings.  Happiness materializes from self-acceptance and an awareness that while every sky may not be blue and every thunderstorm doesn’t end in a rainbow, trials mean growth and growth means maturity and understanding.  They don’t call it growing pains for nothing.

I hope you will find a way to get in touch with your happiness and take some time out to commemorate this wonderful day. Whether it’s doing  #happyacts for a random stranger or singing and dancing to the “Happy” song, take time to celebrate your happy.  And if you are inclined to do so, stop back by this posting and let me know how you celebrated the day!

Me, I’ll be celebrating with friends, family and Live Happy magazine.  Live Happy will be hosting a 24 hour Happiness LIve Stream filled with commentary by a number of “happiness” experts.  Click the link below to register and be a part of the celebration.  It’s free.

http://www.livehappy.com/24-hour-happiness-live-stream

Have a HAPPY day!

Leave a Reply

