Welcome To My New Section – Transformation

3771041918_9fd13021c5 (2)It’s been a while since I posted.  Alot has been going on in my life over the last few weeks.  My oldest daughter graduated high school.  My youngest daughter is preparing to go to France for her junior year in high school.  I am still getting adjusted to a new role as is my husband.  Our lives have taken quite the turn for the positive.  I have so much to be thankful for.  But somehow I keep losing site of that fact.  It’s a daily struggle to maintain that state of mine.

For the last 6 months or so I have been struggling physically.  Almost 9 years ago, I was diagnosed with papillary thyroid cancer and have been battling the aftermath of surgery and treatment ever since.  I guess you could say for the last 9 years I have been in denial.  I thought taking my maintenance med every day was enough and I could move through life as I always had.  Hit or miss at the gym.  Watching what I ate whenever and throwing caution to the wind most days.  Pushing myself and not getting enough quality rest.  The list goes on and on.

I have had to learn the hard way that you cannot neglect your body the way that I have.  It may not be evident overnight, but the neglect will catch up to you.  Fast forward to the present time…I am waking up every morning with swollen hands and feet.  I have gained more weight than I care to disclose in the last 3 months.  I am just plain worn out, disgusted, disappointed, frustrated, etc., etc., etc.  But the big question is:  WHAT AM I GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?????

I am going to change.  But not overnight.  I realized that what got me to this point it a collection of things and so in order to transform and move away from my negative behaviors, I need to go through a process.  I have to change my thought processes.  I have to re-evaluate my relationship with food.  I have to gain an appreciation for consistency. I have to learn how to commit to a healthy lifestyle.  This is going to be tough….YES!  But I have no choice.  My body is telling me every day that my time for change is running out.

Now I know many people blog about weight loss and physical transformations.  This section of my blog will include some of that.  But more importantly, it will include the realness that goes along with the struggle.  All of the highs, lows, wins, losses, successes, failures and tears will be documented here.  I need this to hold me accountable.  No magic pills, potions or miracles.  Just good old-fashioned hard work.

My goal is to post every day about my journey.  It’s going to be hard at first because it’s not easy being vulnerable.  But that fear of vulnerability has to change to.  As Brene Brown puts it…I have to dare greatly to live and to change.  So that’s what I am going to do!

Leave a Reply

