Sugar – I’m Leaving You!

Sugar

Dear Sugar:

Where do I begin.  Our love affair is 35 years long .  It started with the lures of hard candy as a treat given to me by grandparents at every visit. My mother made you seem forbidden and painted you as a villain which made me want you more and more.

Cavities and threats of extensive dental work wasn’t enough to keep me away from you.  Excitement every time we visited the bank drive-thru was because I knew you would come to me in the form of those Dum-Dum lollipops.  Mom would let me have them thinking it was my every now and then treat.  Little did she know I overloaded on peppermints and strawberry candies every time I visited the grandparents.

Fast forward a few years, I couldn’t get enough of you in liquid form.  Soda was my new addiction, drinking it every time I could. Which one is better – Pepsi or Coke?  I didn’t know and I didn’t care as long as I had an unlimited supply to drink.  Then there was the “sugar added” foods – Pop Tarts, Frosted Flakes – you name it I ate it.  My metabolism was high and I thought I could afford to indulge, or should I say,  over indulge in you.  Boy would I soon learn that just wasn’t the case.

After having my children my health took a turn for the worse and you chose to be unkind to me.  You no longer worked with my metabolism, you worked against it.  Whenever I invited you into my life, you consistently brought friends.  Unwanted and uninvited friends.  Friends like extra weight, lethargy, more cravings, etc., etc., etc.  How could you do this to me?  More importantly, how could I let you do this to me?

Forget the what ifs and wishes of better decisions back then.  Today is a new day.  I don’t need you sugar.  Better yet, I don’t want you anymore.  I’m sorry but I’m leaving you.  Wait…I’m not sorry. You and your negative effects are no longer welcome in my world.  Have a nice life…because without you, I know I will.

Sincerely,

A Brand New Me!

4 thoughts on “Sugar – I’m Leaving You!

  1. It’s hard to get away from sugar, it’s everywhere. I’ve chosen to avoid high fructose corn syrup since it’s the worst form of sugar. It gets shunted straight to your liver to process. I don’t think I could go off sugar completely, though.

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

