Broken

8091480155_da2eef709e

Each morning I wake up resolved to smile.

While you remain content to frown.

Denying all the goodness of life.

While I bask in the beauty all around.

Each day I count all my blessings.

Not the worries I cannot control.

Each day you anticipate bad things.

You never see your glass as half full.

Each day I try to make new memories.

Yet each day you refuse to forget.

Things that happened in our history.

Because you’re not ready to let go of them yet.

You have broken your heart in to pieces.

Trying to hold on to the pain.

Trying to stop life and time.

But your efforts are futile and all in vain.

As much as it pains me to see you hurt.

As hard as it is to just let you be.

I’ve come to accept that you are broken.

And I refuse to let you break me.

Leave a Reply

