It’s Not About My Waist, It’s About My Waste

20151013_040015(1)

There it is…the bin of shame.  It glares at me every time I step into my basement.  When I dare pillage through it to find that lost article that may still fit, it mocks me and reminds me of the countless dollars I have wasted because of my lack of willpower and self-discipline.

I’ve been reading a lot of self-help books lately.  Books about mindfulness, healthy eating, the benefits of exercise…all stuff I already know.  I’ve been on social media, following this person for fitspiration and liking this one because of their miracle workout plan.  But what I am noticing is that the extent of my efforts lie with the turn of a page or the click of the mouse.  When it comes to actually getting my butt up off the couch and doing something, well….that’s a different story.

Since my kids left home a couple of months ago, I have truly let it all go.  I have gained ten pounds and have no motivation to do anything about it…until now.  Winter is coming so I decided to trek down to the basement to take inventory of what I have for the season.  The short answer…NOTHING!!!!  Not because of my waist, but because of my waste.  Wait…what????

You read that right.  My wasteful mentality told me it was okay to camouflage my lack of discipline and self-care with new bigger clothes.  I could simply just toss the old ones down in the basement, out of sight and out of mind.  The fact that my waist continues to expand is a small issue in comparison to the waste that is sitting in that bin.  When I sit back and really think about it, I could probably retire on the all the money spent over the last 10 years as I fluctuated in effort, care and waist size.

So the million dollar question is…what am I going to do about it?  Well, step one is to be more accountable.  What better way to do that than to share my journey to less wastefulness publicly. So that’s what I am going to do.  I am going to be vulnerable, open and honest about my waste so I can be honest about my waist.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not About My Waist, It’s About My Waste

  1. I have experienced first hand what you are going through. Through the course of my life I had gone up and down in weight and had that wasteful pile of clothes as well. It has been a year since I lost 25 lbs and I have to tell you that as great as I feel, every day is like my first day on the diet and exercise plan. That is the only way I have stayed successful. Wake up, say a prayer of gratitude, hit the gym, count my calories, move throughout the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

