Planning to Succeed – Meal Prepping

24550301721_6cec73c36f_nLast week was a complete and total nutritional nightmare for one reason, and one reason only…I did not plan out my meals.  I had to travel for business so I assumed my eating would be “off” so I gave no thought to planning how to stay on track.  Bad, bad, bad I know.  I reasoned that once I got home Wednesday I would resume my mindful eating habits only to find that my fridge was on the fritz so all of my healthy food – GONE!!!  I don’t need to finish the rest of the story because we all know how it ends…with fast food too many calories and disappointment.  Where is the willpower????

So this week I decided I wanted to get back to being deliberate about what I am putting in my body.  As I was watching the latest episode of Fit to Fat to Fit, something the trainer said resonated with me.  He hadn’t eaten “junk” in 22 years because he used food as fuel not as a reward or for satisfaction.  Interesting????  I have heard that before but this time, it really resonated with me.  Why? Because I noticed that lately, food has been my go to for everything!  When I am having a bad day, I eat.  When want to celebrate a professional accomplishment, I eat.  When I feel like being lazy, eat.  When I talk on the phone with my bestie, we talk about eating.  Something has to change.  I have to change.

So, I decided to make a small investment into changing.  I ordered Pakkon 3 Compartment Bento Boxes. 20160319_121136.jpg   I like the fact that they have three compartments so I can choose to incorporate my fruits into a meal without having to worry about the savory parts of my meal messing up the taste.  I also like the fact that they are stack-able so they should fit nicely in my fridge.  Now all I have to do is plan out what to put in them and I will be well on my way with meal planning.

I have often heard the saying “Fail to plan, plan to fail.”  I definitely lived that this week and am taking steps to make sure it doesn’t happen again.  My health and well-being are very important and I am confident that I am headed in the right direction.  More pics to come once I fill those boxes with healthy eats!

 

Photo Credit:

<a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/23837066@N07/24550301721″>fruits colors</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

