An Open Letter to My Thyroid Doctor

DSC_0007I am almost 10 years out from having thyroid cancer, yet this last year has been like the first.  I have more half used bottles of medication than I care to have in my cabinet. I have wasted countless dollars on co-payments just so you can tell me “the dose I wrote the script for last time is no longer working so you’ll have to get another prescription filled?”  Really??? Do you treat your other patients with the same lax level of care as you treat me?

Last week I came to you because I know my body and I know when it is off.  After I weighed in considerably heavier than my visit several weeks back, you had the audacity to tell me my weight wasn’t that bad.  How about you let me, my knees, lower back and the rest of my joints be the judge of that.  Then you proceeded to pepper me with your standard list of questions about my eating habits, whether I worked out, and if I was taking my medicine on an empty stomach every morning 30 minutes before eating.  Remember the part about being 10 years out??? I have been dealing with this for a long time so I am insulted when you insinuate that I am the reason why my body is betraying me yet again.

But I tried to give you the benefit of the doubt.  I humbly asked to take you up on your offer to see a nutritionist  who, by the way, can’t even see my until a month from now.  You obliged all the while writing what you really thought in my chart.  Guess you didn’t think I actually read the notes you put on my summary document because if you did, then you clearly wouldn’t have written “obesity due to excessive caloric intake.” Wait…what???? Did you even listen to me as I poured my heart out to you about all the other symptoms I am experiencing in addition to weight gain?   The dry skin, increased anxiety, mood changes, sleeplessness, hoarseness, etc. Yeah, you halfheartedly ordered more blood work but your notes tell me you didn’t believe me.  Your disbelief tells me you don’t really care.

I just wish you would be honest and tell me “I don’t know” or “I am at a loss for what to do for you.”  I could respect that more.  What I don’t respect is you not hearing me and you allowing your bias to assume that I am my problem.  No, not having my thyroid anymore is the problem.  The meds I have to take to keep my cancer away is the problem.  You assuming that bad habits are contributing to my situation is the problem.

Well, in spite of all your training and medical degrees I decline to be subjected to your ego any further.  You may be an expert in some things but you are by far no expert in me.

Sincerely,

A Thyroid Cancer Survivor Who Has Had Enough.

 

Photo Credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/67923086@N02/6306512682″>02_2 free UseAsDirectedMedBottle</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>(license)</a>

 

 

4 thoughts on “An Open Letter to My Thyroid Doctor

  1. Very well said. I can certainly relate. And I think that as more people wake up to the fact that we can’t really look to mainstream medicine for many of the answers or health needs we have, we will start reclaiming our power, following our inner guidance, and looking for more natural alternatives.

    p.s. Thanks for the like a Self-help Health. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to do that, plus it helps lead me back to what they’re up to, like this great post of yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

