Believing in Your Own Hype

25727109780_1b1f1f4609That’s not true because…hmph.  A strange but true concept.  My inner pessimist is weighing heavy on my outer optimist.  An internal war of sorts and negativity has been winning.  But not anymore. It all stops today.  Well, maybe tomorrow. Actually, I don’t know if it will ever stop but I’ll keep telling myself it will.

One day I logged in to my company’s intranet site and saw a blog post by our CEO.  It was thought provoking to say the least.  The question he posed was “have you found what
matter?”  What bothered me the most about the questions was I couldn’t immediately answer.  I managed to craft a nice response in which I made reference to our values.  But after hitting send I realized two things: (1) I didn’t answer the questions; and (2) I didn’t answer it because I didn’t believe in my own hype.

“Hype” is a fascinating term.  It can take on various meanings.  It can mean to be full of it.  Or it can mean to boost something or someone up.  My use of the term takes on the later meaning.  I love to hype those around me.  I hate the thought of someone being down when I know I am capable of picking them up.  Knowing just what to say is a gift of sorts.  A gift I can always seem to give everyone but myself.  I can “fix” others around me even if only temporarily but I cannot seem to avoid staying broken.

I know I am not the only “me” out there.  I know there are others who are great at being someone else’s “hype” man and who fail miserably at hyping themselves.  So I decided to share my journey to becoming my own hype man in hopes of helping others.  My hope is to help others do a few things:

(1) Acknowledge that it is okay to have these feelings;

(2) Get out of your own emotional way; and

(3) Find small ways to be your own hype man so you can feel as great about yourself as you make others feel about themselves.

It’s that simple.  Not rocket science.  No PhD required.  Just an open mind and open heart.  Follow me with this in mind and I promise to do the same as I put “pen” to paper.

Next up…”How I Got Into the Hype Business”….

Photo credit: (license)

Leave a Reply

