I Can’t…

I can’t understand why you find it hard to believe that someone like me could be better than you.

I can’t understand why you think the kink of my hair means it’s impossible for someone like me to do the job that you do.

I can’t understand how you think it’s okay to snicker, point fingers and jeer as I walk by.

I can’t understand why you can’t understand that your ignorance doesn’t make me moan, groan or sigh.

You can’t understand how I could love myself – strong, black and beautiful as can be.

You can’t understand that instead of poking fun you should be trying to surround yourself with people like me.

You can’t understand the breadth of my knowledge, the depth of my heart and the span of my will.

You can’t understand why you can’t break me down and why my dreams you will never be able to kill.

I can’t understand why you waste your time making me to center point of your disdain.

I can’t understand why you have yet to learn that you don’t phase me and you’re wasting time all in vain.

I can’t entertain your level of thought and  your ignorance is something I cannot reduce myself to understand.

You can’t understand how I rise above, continue to climb all while living authentically.

It doesn’t matter if you can’t understand it because I can.

Leave a Reply

